How to be a Creative Genuis 2.

23 12 2009

   Life Lessons for the childhood of Einstein

2. Get hooked on the joy of learning

  I was born on March 14th 1879 in Ulm, a small city in southern Germany.  My father’s name was Hermann and mother’s name was Pauline.  They were a middle class Jewish couple.  My father worked as a featherbed salesman.   Later when the family moved to Munich he started an electrical company.  My first memory is that I was hooked on learning

 As a child I was slow to speak.  I did not speak until I was about three years old.  When I did speak I would repeat under my breath and rehearse my words before I spoke. Every sentence I uttered no matter how routine I repeated softly to myself.  The babysitter we had thought I was repeating everything because I was not very bright.  My parents were worried because I began to speak fairly late, so that they even consulted a doctor.  The family legend said that I actually just liked to think about what I said before I said it.  My sister recalled that I would nearly always “pause before speaking, as though pondering what I was going to say.

 Like ever child I was hooked on learning.  I wanted to explore. I wanted to understand.  I was curious. I was hungry for knowledge.  I had a childlike eagerness. I was interested!

 But many children lose that sense as they grow up.  There are many children who sit and passively wait for the world to come to them.  I saw the world as a hook that attracted me to discover and explore.  I pursued learning.  If there was one thing that I want you know is to stay hooked on learning and let no one take that away from you.  

  Get hooked on the joy of learning

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

