How to be a Creative Genius 4.

24 12 2009

Life Lessons from the childhood of Einstein

4. Energize your childlike imagination 

I loved toys! I used to love watching a toy boat floating on the top of the water in a pail.  It filled my imagination. I would watch the boat move around the pail and was amazed that it floated.

  There was no end to my imagination. 

I imagined being in that boat. Little did I know at the time I was experimenting with water displacement and had the same wonderment that a famous scientist named Archimedes had before he shouted, “Eureka!”

I loved to play with toys and let my mind wander and wonder. Why do some things float and others do not?

There was no end to my imagination

 

Later in my live I actually learned to sail.  I would go out into the lake in a sailboat and just float around.  Some people thought I was crazy because they would see this old man with crazy hair who spoke a strange accent sailing aimlessly around in a lake.

 I did many things that people thought were odd. I never wore socks and never learned to drive.      

A question that sometimes drives me hazy: am I or are the others crazy?  

But“In a sailboat I become oblivious to everything else in the world.”

 There was no end to my imagination.

  I loved toys with moving parts-cars and trucks. When I was told that I would have soon have a baby sister I imagined a new kind of toy.  When I saw sister Maja for the first time, I said, “Yes it is nice, but where are the wheels?”

 I am also told I had quite a temper when I was a little boy.  I threw things around-sometimes hitting family members with objects in my anger. I remember hitting my sister with a shovel.  My sister said later in her life “It takes a hard skull to be the sister of a genius.”  That is one part I do not recommend. But I do hope all of you keep your playful imagination alive.

 I imagined in pictures.  Just as I imagined what it would be like in the sailboat, I imagined what it would be like to ride on a beam of light across the universe.  I loved to learn and to know.  I discovered that the development of science was to satisfy my longing for knowledge. I was on a pursuit to learn and now I realize that the pursuit of truth and beauty is a sphere of activity in which we are permitted to remain children all our lives.

The main source of all technological achievements is the divine curiosity and playful drive of the tinkering and thoughtful researcher, as much as it is the creative imagination of the inventor.

 Imagination is more important than knowledge. For knowledge is limited to all we now know and understand, while imagination embraces the entire world, and all there ever will be to know and understand.

 There was no end to my imagination. 

Energize your childlike imagination

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

