How to be a Creative Genius #11

3 01 2010

Life Lessons from the Childhood of Einstein

11.   Make questioning a central activity of your life

   I continued to ask questions. I did not give up when I was told that no one could answer those questions.  My search led to a whole new way of looking at the universe in which we live. 

One common thread that held all these experiences together was asking questions!!

I have no special talent. I am only passionately curious. I have no particular talent. I am merely inquisitive.   I was born with a question mark in my mind.  I asked questions.

Is there anything farther away than space?

 How does light get all the way from the stars to your eyes? 

What would it be like to ride a beam of light?

    Is there anything bigger than the universe?

If I were about to be killed and had only one hour to figure out how to save my life, I would devote the first 55 minutes of that hour to searching for the right question.  Once I had that question, finding the answer would take only about 5 minutes.

 In 1905 I finally had some answers to some of the most important scientific questions.

 Why does the dust jiggle on the surface of water?  Brownian movement of molecules

      2.  What is light made of?  Waves or particles  Discovery of Photons

      3.   What would it be like to travel at the speed of light?  Theory of relativity

Without strong questioning skills, you are just a passenger on someone else’s tour bus.  You may be on the highway, but someone else is doing the driving. Learn from yesterday, live for today, hope for tomorrow. The important thing is not to stop questioning. Curiosity has its own reason for existing.

One cannot help but be in awe when he contemplates the mysteries of eternity, of life, of the marvelous structure of reality. It is enough if one tries merely to comprehend a little of this mystery every day.

 Never lose a holy curiosity.

Questions and questioning may be the most powerful technologies of all.

 To raise new questions, new possibilities, to regard old problems from a new angle, requires creative imagination and marks real advance in science.  My only genius talent is inquisitiveness. People like you and me never grow old.  We never cease to stand like curious children before the great mystery in which we were born.

 Make questioning a central activity of your life

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

